• Share:

    Book Fest In Your Living Room Presents Andrew McCarthy, "Brat: An 80s Story"

    ZOOM Webinar Author Talk + Q & A

    When: Monday, 5/24/2021 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

    Where: Online

    Register

    OFJCC Palo Alto JCCFans of Patti Smith's Just Kids and Rob Lowe's Stories I Only Tell My Friends will love this beautifully written, entertaining and emotionally honest memoir by an actor, director and author who found his start as an 80s Brat pack member.

    Most people know Andrew McCarthy from his movie roles in Pretty in Pink, St. Elmo's Fire, Weekend at Bernie's, and Less than Zero, and as a charter member of Hollywood's Brat Pack. That iconic group of ingenues and heartthrobs included Rob Lowe, Molly Ringwald, Emilio Estevez and Demi Moore, and has come to represent both a genre of film and an era of pop culture.

    In his memoir Brat: An '80s Story, McCarthy focuses his gaze on that singular moment in time. The result is a revealing look at coming of age in a maelstrom, reckoning with conflicted ambition, innocence, addiction and masculinity. New York City of the 1980s is brought to vivid life in these pages, from scoring loose joints in Washington Square Park to skipping school in favor of the dark revival houses of the Village where he fell in love with the movies that would change his life.

    Filled with personal revelations of innocence lost to heady days in Hollywood with John Hughes and an iconic cast of characters, Brat is a surprising and intimate story of an outsider caught up in a most unwitting success.

    Book purchases include signed bookplate, shipping and tax. All books include shipping to the US and Canada only. Books will be shipped by our partner, A Cappella Books, after the event and can take seven to ten business days to receive due to Covid-related USPS delays.

    Presented in partnership with the National JCC Literary Consortium; A Cappella Books, Atlanta; and Books & Books, Coral Gables


    Monday, May 24
    5:00–6:00 PM
    $36 includes one copy of the book | $6 talk only
    Online via Zoom
    Contact: Luba Palant | [email protected]

    Register

    Print

    Contact Us